This is the "Company & Industry Research" page of the "Company & Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MCPL banner

Company & Industry Research   Tags: business, companies, industries  

Company and industry research.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/businessresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Company & Industry Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MCPL's Premium Electronic Resources for Company & Industry Research

Access to these services requires a library card from Montgomery County Public Libraries and a PIN.  Having access problems?  If so, please see our Troubleshooting page or call Ask-a-Librarian at 240-777-0001.

Read about the differences between public vs. private companies.

Business Insights Global

Business Insights: Global

Provides US and worldwide company and industry information; industry research reports; case studies; economic and business statistics; and journal articles. 

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Over 2200 full-text journals, as well as market research reports, industry reports, country reports, and company profiles.  

In addition, the supplemental Regional Business News provides access to nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.

Reference USA icon

ReferenceUSA

Find businesses in the U.S. and Canada by type, size, and location, as well as by name, address, and phone number.  ReferenceUSA provides company profiles and can be used for market research, sales and job leads.  Provides a corporate tree structure.  Includes limited download options. 

Search for jobs by type, keywords, geography, and estimated salary.  Find business profiles in the U.S. and Canada by type, size, and location, as well as by name, address, and phone number.  Includes limited download options. 

Tutorials and webcasts.

Advertising Redbook logo

Advertising Redbooks

Particularly good for information on advertising agencies and PR firms, their clients, and their markets. 

Also provides extensive information on all major companies that advertise, including personnel, brand names, competitors, advertising expenditures, advertising agencies. Search by company name, brand name, officer title, location, industry, size.
S&P NetAdvantage logo

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

Investment reports on stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, plus company profiles and the S&P Outlook.  Daily Price Record includes historical stock prices from 1984 to present With a new Financial Literacy section.

Value Line logo

Value Line

Financial information about publicly traded companies and industry analysis.  Provides information on stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertibles. Select RESEARCH HUB to access Investment Surveys.

morningstar

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Financial information about publicly traded companies, company contact information, company profiles, analyst reports, and industry peer comparisons. Provides information on stocks, mutual funds, ETFs (exchange-traded-funds), and return information on various investment indexes, sectors, industries, and fund categories. 

 

Public vs. Private Company Information

Public companies issue shares of stock that are traded openly on one or more exchange, such as the NASDAQ or NYSE. They must file various forms and documents about their financial performance and governance structure with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Private companies are not traded on any stock exchange, and they generally do not have to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Consequently, finding reliable information on private companies can be quite challenging.

Consider these tips for finding and using information on private companies:

  • Look for directory listings, company profiles, and news articles using the databases and websites on this guide.
  • Try to find local news coverage in the areas where the company's headquarters or other facilities are located.  
  • Financials for private companies are often reported as "estimates" and may not be current.
  • Many private companies have websites with useful information.

Ask-a-Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
240-777-0001 (Voice)
240-777-0902 (TTY)

Social Media Policy
Send Email
Subjects:
Reference
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip