This is the "History & Current Events" page of the "History and Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MCPL banner

History and Current Events   Tags: current_events, history, local_history, news, research  

History and current events.
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/history-and-current-events Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

History & Current Events Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  MCPL's Premium Electronic Resources for History & Current Events

Access to these services requires a library card from Montgomery County Public Libraries and a PIN.  Having access problems?  If so, please see our Troubleshooting page or call Ask-a-Librarian at 240-777-0001.

For a listing of MCPL's oldest periodicals, both local and general, dating back as early as 1765, please see Long-Run Periodicals in the MCPL Collection.

History in Context icon

History in Context - U.S.

Reference articles, journal articles, primary sources, maps, and charts. From Gale/Cengage.

History in Context - World

Reference articles, journal articles, primary sources, maps, and charts. From Gale/Cengage.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Full text from history reference books and periodicals. Plus historical documents, biographies, images, maps, and video. From EBSCO.

Oxford African American Studies icon

Oxford African American Studies Center

Covers African American history, including primary sources and biographies. Features the African American National Biography, Africana, and the Encyclopedia of African American History.

Opposing Viewpoints logo

Opposing Viewpoints

Articles, overviews, editorials, statistics, and primary sources on controversial social issues.

Discovering Collection icon

Discovering Collection

Easy-to-use coverage of history, literature, science, social studies, with content almost entirely from reputable reference books, plus video, audio, and primary sources. Great for students in high school and middle school. 

Gale Virtual Reference icon

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Over 25 full-text reference books on topics on U.S. and world history topics, including American Decades. Fully searchable and browsable. 

General One File Icon

General OneFile 

Our largest periodical database. Articles from 13,000 periodicals and newspapers. Indexing starts in 1980; later years have majority in full-text. National Public Radio transcripts and audio. Machine translation into many languages. Save your searches and post RSS feeds.

ProQuest icon

National Newspapers from ProQuest

Articles from The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and newspapers from 17 other cities.

New York Times

New York Times

Articles from the New York Times, 1980 to the presentUse these specific links for the full-text coverage of the NYT Book Review and the Sunday NYT Magazine, beginning in 1986. Part of National Newspapers Premier from ProQuest.

 

New York Times Historical

1851-2008 - Available only at the Rockville Memorial Library.  Fully searchable images of every page from the first issue through 2008.

Washington Post

Washington Post

Articles from the Washington Post, 1988 to the present.  Part of National Newspapers Premier from ProQuest. 

Washington Post Historical

1877-1995 - Fullly searchable images of every page.

World Book Online icon

World Book Online

Encyclopedia for students and adults, with multimedia content. 

Ask-a-Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
240-777-0001 (Voice)
240-777-0902 (TTY)

Social Media Policy
Send Email
Subjects:
Reference

Other MCPL History Guides

Other MCPL Current Events Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip