Ask-a-Librarian Library Catalog Library Home A - Z List of Databases Research a Topic Branches and Hours MCPL Home
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Jobs and Careers  Tags: jobs resumes job_hunting employment unemployment careers tests companies  

Resources about careers, job hunting, and resume writing.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/jobhunting  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Company Research             Print Page
  
 

At Your Libraries

The Rockville Library's Business Information Center houses a large collection of reference volumes in the area of company research and other business topics and provides access to electronic business information. Other branch libraries of Montgomery County also stock basic resources.

 

Print Directories

Local Directories

Book of Lists by the Washington Business Journal. (R 338.74025 BOO).
Contains listings of hundreds of the top area companies in their fields, by rankings. Also available online.

Harris Maryland Manufacturers Directory by the Maryland Dept. of Economic and Employment Development. (R 670 HAR).
Directory of Maryland businesses by company name, geography, industry, SIC code, and product.

National Directories

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies (R 338.74 WAR).

Corporate Yellow Book: Who's Who at the Leading Listed U.S. Companies (R 338.7402573 COR).

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives  (R 670 P823R).

The Advertising Red Books (R 659.1125 ADV).

International Directories

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (Who Owns Whom) (R 338.8 LEX).

Principal International Businesses by Dun and Bradstreet. (R 380.1025 PRI ).

     

    MCPL's Company Research Databases

    You will need a Montgomery County Public Libraries card number to log into these resources if you are not in one of our buildings.

    • Business & Company Resource Center  
      Provides detailed information on companies, including industry rankings and company reports for investors. Includes periodical articles.
    • Mergent Online  
      Detailed U.S. company information, including their SEC filings. International company information also is available.
    • ReferenceUSA  
      More than 12 million U.S. businesses listed with corporate linkage. Listings can be searched in combinations of categories such as industries, geographical areas, business size, etc. Good tool for identifying companies by location.
    • Encyclopedia of Associations  
      Via the Gale Directory Library.
      Information about national, international, and local nonprofit and membership organizations.
     

    Web Links for Company Research

     

    Need Help?

    Profile ImageAsk Us!


    Contact Info:
    240-777-0001
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait