Kindle? Sony Reader? Nook? iPad?
On which eBook readers can you use the library's downloadable eBooks from the Maryland Digital eLibrary / Overdrive? Answer: the ones that work with Adobe Digital Editions. Watch this instructional video. It is aimed at Nook users but users of other compatible devices will follow the same steps.
Kindle - No - Amazon's Kindles operate with a proprietary file format. Our eBooks are not compatible. Although Kindles now support PDF files, they do not support PDF with Adobe digital rights management, which our eBooks have. However, you can use a Kindle to listen to our MP3-format audiobooks from the Overdrive/Maryland eLibrary Consortium and from NetLibrary.
Sony Reader - Yes - Sony Readers can usually handle the PDF-format eBooks and can certainly handle the reflowable EPUB-format eBooks from Maryland's Digital eLibrary Consortium. Occasionally, complexities in the text, such as graphs or charts, may render oddly.
Nook - Yes - Barnes and Noble's Nook is compatible with Overdrive eBooks. Watch instructional video.
iPad - The iPad is not compatible with the DRM-protected PDF and EPUB eBooks available on the Maryland Digital eLibrary/Overdrive. However, you can listen to both WMA and MP3 audiobooks on your iPad when you transfer them to the device using the OverDrive Media Console.
Alex - Yes - Spring Design's Android-based Alex supports the DRM-protected PDF and EPUB eBooks available on the Maryland Digital eLibrary/Overdrive. It should also play MP3-format audiobooks.
Kobo eReader- Yes - Available from Borders bookstores and Borders.com.
Important - Your eBook reader and your computer's Adobe Digital Editions must be authorized using the same email address and password. If they aren't, you will get an error message when you try to transfer your eBook to your portable reader.
See also: Overdrive's compatible eBook devices.
eBooks from MCPL
Access to these services requires a library card from Montgomery County Public Libraries and a PIN. If you have access problems, please call Ask-a-Librarian at 240-777-0001.
|
Enter Maryland Digital eLibrary Consortium / Overdrive Instructional video for using your Nook (or other ebook reader) |
Maryland's Digital eLibrary Consortium / OverdriveWhile our catalog and circulation system are being upgraded over Labor Day weekend, you will most likely be unable to access your account in the Maryland Digital eLibrary. If a title you have placed on hold expires before you can pick it up, please fill out the Support Form so we can restore your place in the queue. eBooks in Adobe PDF and Adobe EPUB format for adults, young adults, and children from Overdrive. Requires free Adobe Digital Editions software, available for both Windows and Apple computers.
|
![]() |
Safari Tech Books OnlineeBooks on information technology, computing, and business from major publishers within the last 2 years. Complete content of over 1000 books, with charts, graphics, and cut-and-paste code segments. These titles are not downloadable. Read them from within your browser. They are not available to mobile Internet devices, such as an iPhone, through the library's subscription. |
|
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull-text reference books on topics including business, history, law, philosophy, psychology, religion, and science. Fully searchable and browsable. These reference titles are not downloadable. Read them from within your browser. Do a quick search within our GVRL titles by typing your search terms into this box. x
|
![]() |
Career Insider from VaultVault publishes many career guides, and Career Insider provides them as e-books. Titles include Vault Guide to the Top Government and Nonprofit Employers; Vault Guide to the Case Interview, Vault Guide to Veterinary and Animal Careers, Vault Guide to the Top 100 Law Firms, and many more. Go to the Download Guides tab. Vault's downloadable eBooks open with free Adobe Reader software. This site also has career, industry, and company profiles, plus job hunting advice, an internship database, social features, and advice about colleges. You must create a user name and password to use Career Insider. |
![]() |
NetLibraryOur NetLibrary collection is almost all audiobooks, but it does include Cliffs Notes and out-of-copyright eBooks for reading as well. These titles are not downloadable. Read them from within your browser. On May 18, 2010, we simplified the sign-in procedure for NetLibrary. You no longer need a user name and password to access NetLibrary. You need only your MCPL library card number and its PIN. |
|
|
Testing & Education Reference CenterFeatures eBooks from Peterson's and Gale for over 100 examinations, including GED, SAT, ACT, AP, CLEP, TOEFL, GRE, LSAT, GMAT, MCAT, civil service, military, nursing, the new citizenship examination, and many more. The eBooks open in Adobe Reader and cannot be saved locally to your machine. You must create a user name and password to use the test preparation books and online tests. |
Using a Nook or other compatible eBook reader with Overdrive

Loading Video/Audio Clip...
Articles
MCPL provides online access to articles from magazines and newspapers. To locate a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper by title, use our A-Z Magazine and Newspaper Locator.
See MCPL's Research a Topic page to find articles from reference books. Among those available are Gale Virtual Reference Library, World Book Online, Oxford African American Studies Center, Oxford Islamic Studies Online, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Lands and Peoples, and many, many more.
Free eBooks Online
- Google Books
Google scans the world. With the cooperation of many large academic libraries, Google has scanned millions of titles. If the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases, the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. All scanned titles are fully searchable. Google Books has links to booksellers and WorldCat's union catalog of library holdings. - Project Gutenberg
Out-of-copyright eBooks suitable for any reading platform. Due to a huge volunteer effort, Project Gutenberg has almost 30,000 books and has titles in over 50 languages. - Internet Archive's Open-Access Text
Includes over 1.2 million public domain titles from US and Canadian libraries, plus many current items with Creative Commons licenses. - Internet Archive's BookServerLocate eBooks available from publishers, booksellers, libraries, and authors.
Description
Loading content... please wait










