This is the "Investing & Personal Finance" page of the "Investing and Personal Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MCPL banner

Investing and Personal Finance   Tags: financial, investing, personal_finance  

Finance
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/investing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Investing & Personal Finance Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MCPL's Premium Financial Research Databases

Access to these services requires a library card from Montgomery County Public Libraries and a PIN.  If you have access problems, please see our Troubleshooting page or call Ask-a-Librarian at 240-777-0001.

Read about the differences between public vs. private companies

Value Line logo

Value Line

Financial information about publicly traded companies, plus industry analysis.  This resource provides information on stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertibles. Select Research Hub to access the Investment Surveys.  If you have difficulty printing PDF pages, select the Advanced print option for "Print as image."

morningstar

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Financial information about publicly traded companies, company contact information, company profiles, analyst reports, and industry peer comparisons. Provides information on stocks, mutual funds, ETFs (exchange-traded-funds), and return information on various investment indexes, sectors, industries, and fund categories. 

Standard & Poor's Logo

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Investment reports on stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, plus company profiles and the S&P Outlook. With a new Financial Education section.

Business Insights Global

Business Insights: Global

Provides US and worldwide company and industry information; industry research reports; case studies; economic and business statistics; and journal articles. Includes full text articles from Investor's Business Daily.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Over 2200 full-text journals, as well as market research reports, industry reports, country reports, and company profiles.  

In addition, the supplemental Regional Business News provides access to nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal

Articles from the Wall Street Journal, 1984 to present.  Part of National Newspapers from ProQuest.

Safari Books Online logo

Safari Books Online

E-books about investment and personal finance, as well as other business and technical topics.  Please note: The titles do not download, you can read them from within your browser.  MCPL has a limited number of concurrent users on this product. If you can't get in, clear your browser's Temporary Internet Files, and try again after a while.

 

Public vs. Private Company Information

Public companies issue shares of stock that are traded openly on one or more exchange, such as the NASDAQ or NYSE. They must file various forms and documents about their financial performance and governance structure with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Private companies are not traded on any stock exchange, and they generally do not have to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Consequently, finding reliable information on private companies can be quite challenging.

Consider these tips for finding and using information on private companies:

  • Look for directory listings, company profiles, and news articles using the databases and websites on this guide.
  • Try to find local news coverage in the areas where the company's headquarters or other facilities are located.  
  • Financials for private companies are often reported as "estimates" and may not be current.
  • Many private companies have websites with useful information.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip