This is the "Law Home" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MCPL banner

Law   Tags: law  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Law Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MCPL's Premium Electronic Resources for Law

Access to these services requires a library card from Montgomery County Public Libraries and a PIN.  Having access problems?  If so, please see our Troubleshooting page or call Ask-a-Librarian at 240-777-0001.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law

14-volume reference work, published 2011. Covers leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.

U.S. Legal Forms

Legal Forms

Business, personal, real estate, contract, and general law forms plus forms specific to Maryland.  From Gale.

MyGovernment

MyGovernment

Locate, research, and contact your elected officials - federal, state and local. Also includes overviews of the federal government, how laws are made, applying for citizenship, and voter information. From Gale.

Bill of Rights 5-volume reference work

The Bill of Rights

5-volume reference work, published in 2005, traces evolution of the freedoms codified in the first 10 amendments to the U.S. Constitution throughout American history to the present. Includes discussion and chronology of relevant Supreme Court rulings, as well as analysis of key controversies or perspectives.

Washington Information Directory

Washington Information Directory

Contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database.

TERC

Testing & Education Reference Center

Practice the LSAT exam in both interactive and eBook formats and search for American Bar Association (ABA)-approved law schools.  

 

Nonfiction Titles on Law and the Legal Profession

Cover Art
My Beloved World - Sonia Sotomayor
Call Number: B SOTOMAYOR
ISBN: 9780307594884
Publication Date: 2013
The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken by a sitting Justice, she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal bench, a journey that offers an inspiring testament to her own extraordinary determination and the power of believing in oneself.

Cover Art
Rebels at the Bar - Jill Norgren
Call Number: 340.092 NOR
ISBN: 9780814758625
Publication Date: 2013
Prize-winning legal historian Jill Norgren recounts the life stories of a small group of nineteenth century women who were among the first female attorneys in the United States. Beginning in the late 1860s, these determined rebels pursued the radical ambition of entering the then all-male profession of law. Through a biographical approach, Norgren presents the common struggles of eight women first to train and to qualify as attorneys, then to practice their hard-won professional privilege. Their story is one of nerve, frustration, and courage.

Cover Art
Taking the Stand - Alan Dershowitz
Call Number: ON ORDER
ISBN: 9780307719270
Publication Date: 2013
America's most prominent legal mind and the #1 bestselling author of Chutzpah and The Best Defense, Alan Dershowitz, recounts his legal autobiography, describing how he came to the law, as well as the cases that have changed American jurisprudence over the past 50 years, most of which he has personally been involved in.

Cover Art
The Lawyer Bubble - Steven J. Harper
Call Number: 331.761 HAR
ISBN: 9780465058778
Publication Date: 2013
A noble profession is facing its defining moment. From law schools to the prestigious firms that represent the pinnacle of a legal career, a crisis is unfolding. News headlines tell part of the story; the growing oversupply of new lawyers, widespread career dissatisfaction, and spectacular implosions of pre-eminent law firms. A devastating indictment of the greed, shortsightedness, and dishonesty that now permeate the legal profession, this insider account is essential reading for anyone who wants to know how things went so wrong and how the profession can right itself once again.

Cover Art
Unprecedented - Josh Blackman; Randy E. Barnett (Foreword by)
Call Number: 344.73 BLA
ISBN: 9781610393287
Publication Date: 2013
In 2012, the United States Supreme Court became the center of the political world. In a dramatic and unexpected decision, Chief Justice John Roberts voted on narrow grounds to save the Affordable Care Act, commonly known as Obamacare. Unprecedented tells the inside story of how the challenge to Obamacare raced across all three branches of government, and narrowly avoided a constitutional collision between the Supreme Court and President Obama.

 

DVDs

The Central Park Five - Ken Burns; Sarah Burns; and David McMahon.
Call Number: 364.153 BUR
ISBN: 9781608838547
Publication Date: 2011

This documentary tells the harrowing story of five teenagers from Harlem who were wrongly convicted of an infamous rape in New York City’s Central Park in 1989, in large part based on false confessions. Conservative columnist George Will called the film “a meticulous narrative of a gross miscarriage of justice.” An insightful and articulate analysis of a contemporary constitutional issue.

Of Civil Wrongs and Rights: the Fred Korematsu Story - Eric Paul Fornier.
Call Number: DVD 940.5317 OFC
ISBN: 9780767093026
Publication Date: 2006

In 1942, Fred Korematsu was an average 23-year-old California native working as a shipyard welder. But when he refused to obey Executive Order 9006, which sent 120,000 Americans of Japanese ancestry into internment camps, he became something extraordinary, a civil rights champion.

Ask-a-Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
240-777-0001 (Voice)
240-777-0902 (TTY)

Social Media Policy
Send Email
Subjects:
Reference
 

  Disclaimer

This site offers legal information. We make every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information provided, but it must be evaluated critically by the user. We do not provide legal advice, applying law to your individual circumstances.  For legal advice, you should consult an attorney. 

 

Have you found this guide helpful?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip