Ask-a-Librarian Library Catalog Library Home A - Z List of Databases Research a Topic Branches and Hours MCPL Home
Discussion Guide Archive
African WritersAfrican-American WritersAsian and Asian American WritersFavorite Recommendation ListsIf You Like . . . AuthorsIf You Like . . . GenreIndia: Writers from India, South Asia & the Indian DiasporaLatin American and U.S. Latino WritersNative American Writers
Pearl's Picks ArchivePrevious Librarian's Choices

Readers' Café  Tags: reading book_discussions books library_programs  

A Virtual Meeting Place for Books and Readers
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://montgomerycountymd.libguides.com/readerscafe  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Readers' Café             Print Page
  
 

Readers' Café

Forthcoming Books

 

Award-Winning Titles

 

New for November in the Readers' Cafe:

 

Librarian's Choice:  An Evening with James McBride

We Recommend:  The Big Chill

Discussion Guide:  Sag Harbor

Nancy Pearl has discontinued Pearl's Picks.
See the Pearl's Picks archive under Librarian's Choice.

This Month's Book Newsletters

Tell us what you think about the redesigned Readers' Café.

 

Author Events @MCPL


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Library Resources for Book Lovers

Book Discussions Databases - Newsletters - Online Book Clubs

 

Book Discussions at Your Library

Aspen Hill
Bethesda
Chevy Chase
Damascus
Davis
Germantown
Gaithersburg

Kensington Park
Little Falls
Long Branch
Marilyn J. Praisner (Fairland)
Noyes
Olney
Poolesville

Potomac
Quince Orchard
Rockville
Silver Spring
Twinbrook
Wheaton
White Oak

 

MCPL's Databases for Books and Literature

Books and Authors logo New - Books & Authors is a book discovery and readers' advisory website, with read-alikes and suggestions, award lists, series lists, author information, reviews, and reader rating.  Includes the contents of the What Do I Read Next database.
Books in Print logo
Books In Print is a directory of books, audiobooks, and videos, plus availability and publisher information.
Fiction Collection logo Fiction Connection - Summaries, reviews, and recommendations for fiction and biography titles, searchable by topic, genre, setting, character.
Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center provides criticism and biographies from journals and reference books.
LitFinder logo LitFinder - Contains thousands of full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays, including works for children and in Spanish.

NoveList logo

NoveList - Find fiction by series, plot, setting, and read-alikes. Also book discussion guides, booklists and award winners, booktalks, and other articles. Covers fiction for all ages; also some nonfiction for kids and teens.

 

Online Book Clubs

Every weekday, you will receive in your email a five-minute selection from a chapter of a book. By the end of the week, you’ll have read 2-3 chapters. Every Monday we start a new book.  You choose the categories of reading you prefer:   Fiction, Nonfiction, Teen, Business, Romance, Good News, Science Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Audio, Pre-publication, Classics.

Sign up and start reading!

 

Tell Us What You Think

Readers' Cafe logoLet us know how you like our redesigned Readers' Café.  Tell us what you've found useful or would have liked to see here. 

If you would like a response to your comment, please include your email address.  We will not publish or share your email address.

Thank you!  

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

Need Help? Ask Us!

Profile ImageMCPL Readers' Advisors
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
240-777-0001
TTY 240-777-0902
Send Email

Booklovers' Links


View Complete Tag Cloud on Del.ico.us
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait